Being.

So what is a modern-day Clair Huxtable? Well let me tell you what I have come to believe a MC to be. Your typical 20-something is a MC. She is of african descent, strong, sexy, career-driven, and nurturing. However, she does not have it all together. We are all going through our own struggles and journeys in life, but how we carry ourselves will never change. Some will label it carefree and other will call it ‘black girl magic’, but I like to think that we are The Modern Clair Huxtable. Clair Huxtable is an iconic character. She was a lawyer, mother and friend. While on the Cosby show, she was a beacon for the black woman in the home. She was a feminist, while still loving her husband. Clair was a role model for many young girls who sat in front of the TV screen. Now times have changed and things are much different from what they were on the Cosby Show. Modern women aren’t seeing Clair Huxtable on their TV screens; they are seeing fake reality and housewives. Yet, I don’t think we have strayed from Clair, I think Clair has been redefined. As MC, I am black, confident and comfortable in my skin. I know of no boundaries on my OWN sexuality.  I embrace the heartbreak and wear my scars. I will proudly dismiss my lover and continue to love myself. I am still Clair, I am Millennial Clair.

Leave a Reply

